Blog 12: Enhanced Podcasting and EdReach        

Liz Kolb’s Enhanced Podcasts: A New Twist on an Old Tool, though published in 2008, is full of ideas on how to use podcasts (sound recordings) with videos and text.  She also gives instructions on how to make enhanced podcasts using Power Point and Movie Maker. 

Next school year, I will be writing a weekly class blog, including photos and videos of class activities.  Our school uses Windows, and with the assignments we have been doing in ED554, I’m sure I’ll be able to make some really good quality podcasts to add to the blog.

Which brings me to EdReach and the podcasts they put out.  Although there were quite a few EdReach podcast titles that interested me, not very many of them were well made enough for me to watch through to the end.  For example, I was very interested in the Wilderness Classroom, but the audio and the camera angles were not the best quality; I did not finish any of the virtual field trips.  Others were informative, but rather boring.  Although in color and viewed through the internet, some of the videos were reminiscent of the old projector films some of us might have slept through in high school.

That being said, the one that I did find most informative was Google Educast, which featured Google Certified Teachers (I’m not sure how one becomes a Google Certified Teacher) who talked about new apps, new products, keyboard strokes, and other Google-related topics.  Their podcasts are archived and annotated, so one can scroll through their catchy (kitschy?) titles.   

In the future, when I have more time on my hands, I will most likely continue checking in on Educast to watch their almost-hour-long videos.  They will be a good source for keeping abreast of what’s happening in the world of technology. 

Podcasts are a great way of teaching.  However, the quality of the podcast will determine what students and teachers get from the podcasts.  Just like any other teaching tool, the podcast will work if it gets students (and teachers) excited about learning, exploring, and discovering.

 

http://edreach.us/channel/googleeducast/

 

About palancatina

Teacher, Student, Facilitator. In Spanish, PALANCA means lever. An English Language student once told me how apt my name was because I lifted the class up into a higher realm of knowledge and understanding. I hope to live up to that!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

