Podcast: Bug-eating Plants

Podcast for pre-K to Grade 3 students.

Assessment activity: What do you think a pitcher plant looks like? Draw one (or a million) with the bugs that they might like to eat.

About palancatina

Teacher, Student, Facilitator. In Spanish, PALANCA means lever. An English Language student once told me how apt my name was because I lifted the class up into a higher realm of knowledge and understanding. I hope to live up to that!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Podcast: Bug-eating Plants

  1. thubb07 says:

    I like the use of kids because I think children like hearing stories read to them by kids who sound like them. I think that the clarity of the sound was a bit hard to understand, especially for pre-schoolers. I also think that it could have been read slower and with pictures so that students could have a visual. The story is so cute!

    • palancatina says:

      Thanks, Tommie. I did think about using visuals, but in the end I thought that this could be used as a read-along, with an actual book in students’ hands.
      I didn’t want to overtax the kids by having them do the recording over and over again. They were Najma’s own children, and they were doing me a big favor by being the voice actors.
      I’m glad you liked the story.

  2. Najma Khan says:

    Great Script Tina!
    Lots of great information and very entertaining for the classroom.

  3. sjknight says:

    Great readers:) Kids love to hear other kids and especially themselves. I only wish I saw some pictures to go with this. Bravo!

  4. soneill174 says:

    Great way to hear students fluency (for both the teacher and the students!). I would have liked some sort of introduction or title…it was difficult to follow in the beginning. The assessment is a great measurement of “reading” comprehension. Students need to be able to follow the story in order to correctly do the assessment. Great job Tina!!

    • palancatina says:

      I thought about starting with a title, but then, thought that when I send the podcast out to the parents of the preschool (or primary grades), it would be in a blog that would have an introduction and a homework component to it. Also, any assessment would be done in class after listening to the podcast once more and discussing it in small groups. Thanks for your comments.

  5. hopemiles says:

    I like how you used the kids as the narrators. Kids like hearing other kids because I think they find them easy to relate to. The questions that the kids were asking were very realistic. I like how you also included vocabulary words such as carnivores, Venus fly traps, etc. It would make young kids want to explore the outdoors! I think for a lesson for preschoolers/kindergarten it would be helpful to have some kind of visual element. Great job!

  6. Love the use of children as the voices and great content! May want to split into a few podcasts because its a lot of information!

    • palancatina says:

      Thanks, AnnMarie. I did think of trimming the content, but the script sounded stilted and didn’t flow as easily.
      Loved working with Najma’s young ones!

  7. Mike says:

    I loved t podcast related to plants. Science is a hard subject for some elementary students. This was a great way to get the kids involved. The audio was a bit hard to understand.

    • palancatina says:

      Thanks, Mike. Working with (Najma’s) kids, I just did one take. It is difficult to understand in some parts, but I think it makes the listeners listen more, and they can always replay the difficult bits.

  8. srahyab says:

    This was great Tina! I loved the simplicity of the video and the voices were adorable! Awesome podcast!

  9. Tina, I really liked the story outline you had. I also think it’s helpful that you can use this story from pre-k up until 3rd grade. One thing I would recommend is maybe having the read aloud a little more clear? I’m not sure if all students would be able to understand a couple words that were said. Overall, nice job!!!! 🙂

    • palancatina says:

      Hi, Lourdes. Were you talking about the podcast? I’ve found that having students listen first without the words makes them pay attention in a different way from when they read. It’s also a way of having them talk about what they heard. The text would be available for the upper grades (1-3) when they came in to class, and they could discuss further in small groups. Thanks for your comments!

Leave a Reply

